Our Anti Ragging Prohibition

Ragging: Prohibition, Prevention and Punishment

The University Grants Commission vide its letter no F.1-16/2007 (CPP-II) dated June 17, 2009 has reiterated the ban on ragging of students in Institutions of Higher Learning. The students are therefore directed to strictly desist from any kind of ragging.

Forms of Ragging

Display of noisy, disorderly conduct, teasing, excitement by rough or rude treatment or handling, including rowdy, undisciplined activities which cause or likely to cause annoyance, undue hardship, physical or psychological harm or raise apprehensive fear in a fresher, or asking the students to do any act or perform something which such a student will not do in the ordinary course and which causes him/her shame or embarrassment or danger to his/her life, etc.

Punishment for Participation in/or Abetment of Ragging:

1. Cancellation of admission.

2. Suspension from attending classes.

3. Withholding/withdrawing scholarship/fellowship and other benefits.

4. Debarring from appearing in any test/examination or other evaluation process.

5. Withholding results.

6. Debarring from representing the institution in any national or international meet, tournament, youth festival, etc.

7. Suspension/expulsion from the hostel.

8. Rustication from the institution for periods varying from 1 to 4 semesters or equivalent period.

9. Expulsion from the institution and consequent debarring from admission to any other institution.

10. Fine up to Rs. 25,000/-

Affidavit by students and parents

Each student and his/her parents/ guardian shall have to furnish an affidavit along with the application form to the effect that they will not participate in or abet the act of ragging and that, if found guilty, shall be liable for punishment under the penal law of India.

All students need to fill in an Anti Raging Undertaking, each year
Undertaking can be filled ONLINE at: amanmovement.org (OR) antiragging.in

Anti-Ragging Committee of iLEAD

An Anti-Ragging Committee, iLEAD, consisting of the following members, has been formed with effect from May 16, 2016.

Mr. Pradip Chopra, Chairman
Ms. Pragya Chopra, Executive Director
Dr. Debasis Ray, Head of the Department, Department of Management Studies
Ms. Aishwarya Chatterjee, Faculty, Department of Media science
Mr. Gourab Chatterjee, Faculty, Department of Management Studies

The Committee is eligible to take appropriate decisions, including spelling out suitable punishment to those found guilty.
Any complaint related to Ragging may be reported to: antiraggingcommittee.ilead@gmail.com
Connect with us